CONSTITUTION TASK GROUP held at COUNCIL OFFICES LONDON ROAD SAFFRON WALDEN at 6.00 pm on 29 JANUARY 2007

Present:- Councillor D J Morson – Chairman.

Councillors C M Dean and E J Godwin.

Officers in attendance:- M J Perry and M T Purkiss.

CTG71 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors G Sell, S V Schneider and A R Thawley.

CTG72 MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting held on 10 October 2006 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

CTG73 BUSINESS ARISING

The Chairman said it had previously been agreed that there should be a review of the Constitution prior to the next Annual Council meeting.

It was agreed that all Members would be invited to raise any areas of concern about the Constitution so that these could be considered at the next meeting of the Task Group.

It was

AGREED that a meeting of the Task Group be held on 29 March 2007 commencing at 7.00 pm to consider this matter.

CTG74 INDEPENDENT REPRESENTATIVES ON THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE

It was noted that the Council had been operating its Standards Committee under transitional arrangements and now needed to re-advertise the posts of independent persons to sit on that Committee. Full Council had determined that the selection process should be carried out by the Constitution Task Group who would ultimately recommend candidates for appointment by Full Council.

Following an advertisement and approaches to local groups, three applications had been received and one expression of interest had been made. The closing date for applications was 31 January 2007.

The Task Group considered that the interviews should be conducted by three members of the Group and that one hour be allowed for the interview of each candidate. Members would also consider the possibility of recommending an

increase in the number of independent persons on the Standards Committee from two to three.

The Task Group considered various questions which could be asked at the interview and agreed those that would be appropriate.

It was agreed that the interviews be held at 9.30 am on 26 February 2007 and that Councillors C M Dean, E J Godwin and A R Thawley (if available) should form the interview panel.

The meeting ended at 6.45 pm.